Book review Friday – Joel

Well, it’s been a week here that’s for sure. Good Christmasy times with family made the time fly. I can’t believe it’s Saurday already. Today was crazy as Mike woke up, stretched, and injured his neck. So much so that he almost passed out and I had to call my dad to help me get him up off the floor. A trip to out patients reveals it is just a pulled muscle and he is off the floor and feeling ok. He can’t really do anything though which makes my day a little busier 🙂 But I’m glad it doesn’t seem to be serious. It made me realize how much he does around here though when I have to add those things to my list!

Ok, on to Joel. I kind of took this book personally. When I read it the first time, I was all, “Locusts, blah, blah, blah..restrotation, yay! The Lord is good. Nice book”  But as I continued to read, it felt personal. Like it was me who was being destroyed by locusts only slower. And not by actual locusts of course but by sin and wordly things and selfish habits and things I hold on to from the past. It’s like, if you let the cutting locusts in, then the swarming locusts come so you give in to them, and then the hopping locusts get thier turn and finally the stripping locusts finish you off. Then there is nothing left. (locust references from Joel chapter 1 NLT)

But even after there is nothing left, the Lord can still restore. Even when you think you have done yourself in for good and not even God himself can help you, he will if you let him. If you give yourself to Him. If you turn to Him only. If you leave the world behind.

Will I do it? Will I turn to Him fully before the next army of locusts come for me? I want to. I really want to.

Maybe I’m way off on what the book really meant but that’s kinda where it hit me this time 🙂

I’m off to bed. I still have strange sinus issues going on. It’s migrated to the right side now.

Why don’t you join in the fun? You won’t regret it. You will never regret getting the know God’s word better. Click here for more info.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book review Friday – Joel

  1. watchthesky

    Wow, Jenn! Thank you thank you thank you for the review. You have great stuff here, and thinking about how much I totally missed. I think I love Joel now. Very cool.
    Sorry about your sinus issue.
    Also sorry about hubby’s neck issue.

  2. what’s with our hubbys and their random injuries? stretching and vacuuming….please take caution…

Leave a Reply

