Book Review, uh, Saturday: Matthew 8-11

So, slight improvement on the reading. I actually got through the chapters three times this week. Still not where I should be but better than once, right?

And so there was a major theme in these chapters, eh? Faith. And I’ll be darned if it did’nt make me think of mine all week long. Or my lack of faith for that matter. I kept wondering, if I had been alive when Jesus was walking the Earth doing all those miracles, would I have believed? Would I have been the lady who walked by just to touch the fringe of His robe knowing I’d be healed? Or would I be a skeptic, trying to find another explanation. Every time I read that passage or hear a story about that lady, I get all convicted. Now that is some faith right there to be striving for. We don’t have the opportunity to physically touch His robe. Sometimes I wish I could. I am the type of person who needs to see to believe and that’s pretty much why I struggle with my faith so often.

But at the same time, If I stop and think about all the things the Lord has done for me, I remember that I don’t need to see Him to know He works in my life when I let Him, I just need to see what he does. It’s hard to remember that. Alot hard. So many other things get in the way. Instead of letting God handle daily life, I let life handle me. It’s not really working for me as a matter of fact.

The other story that I really payed attention to was about the blind men. In a sense, they are like us. They couldn’t see Jesus. They heard about what He was doing and believed without seeing. And because of that faith, they were rewarded and able to see what they trusted in; Just like all Christians will someday.

ok, one more thing. In chapter 10 when Jesus is instructing the apostles, there is a verse (10:37) that says “…or if you love your son or daughter more than me, you are not worthy of being mine.” Um, so should we take that literally? Because if so, I have some work to do.

As always, I have some work to do. My level of faith needs a kick in the pants. A big ‘ol kick.

Oh and if you have no idea why I am writing this, go visit Watch the Sky and learn all about BRF. You won’t be sorry 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review, uh, Saturday: Matthew 8-11

  1. watchthesky

    Wow Jenn, What a review! Love it.
    I’ll just say that I want to ‘reach for His robe’ now. And if I was just starting my blog and needed a great name for it, I would title it Reaching for His robe. Very cool. I have to use those words somewhere in a place I will be reminded lots and lots.
    And great insight when you said “And because of that faith, they were rewarded and able to see what they trusted in”. So good. Love it. 🙂

  2. anniepannie

    I think we are supposed to take that literally… we all know it’s not ok to love something more than Jesus, but we rarely think about how it’s wrong to love someONE more than Him, too. I think that’s when we get down to the nitty-gritty of our faith… if we can’t let go of our kids and let God do whatever he wants with them, we’re never really totally surrendering to him. I often wonder if I would still be praising His name and following Him if He chose to take the life of one of my children. That’s a big test. I think I’m getting a bit morbid here but you get the point.
    Great review, by the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

