Book Review Friday – Proverbs #2

Well, I promised to do better this week with my review…I feel better today but I still don’t know if that means my review will be any better…I’ll try.

There were, again, lots of verses throughout the week that stood out and convicted me of so many things that I really need to change.

I don’t believe I disclosed last week what topic I have been concentrating on. It’s anger. I tend to have an anger problem. I can’t seem to bite my tongue when I’m feeling angry either so that’s one thing I really need to work on. My family deserves better than what I have been giving them. So, this Proverbs study has been great in showing me my foolishness.

Proverbs 6:21 tells children to “keep thier (parents) words always in your hearts.” If I am not giving my daughter anything worth keeping in her heart than I am not doing the job that God has given me. Big stuff.

So here’s another verse that stood out to me. Chapter 10:19 “Don’t talk too much, for it fosters sin. Be sensible and turn off the flow!” Yup, that’s some good advice. Keep your mouth shut, Jenn, even when you’re angry. Hard to do but so worth it.

And here’s some more Proverb-y goodness: 12:18 – “A fool is quick tempered but a wise person stays calm when insulted” I don’t even need to be insulted to know that I need to bite my tongue more often. I’m a fool.

Anyway, so much to take in. Even though I know better already, being convicted by the Holy Spirit through reading God’s word makes it all new and important…very important.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Book Review Friday – Proverbs #2

  1. watchthesky

    Thank you very much for your review. All those verses are written in another part of my binder too. I need them for myself as well. That’s the good thing though… we have what we need. God doesn’t leave us high & dry with our problems, He gives us His perfect wisdom to draw from, we just have to read it. It’s all good.
    🙂

  2. happytoknowhim

    Great review Jenn. There are so many areas for me to work on as well. It is really hard to focus on one thing. As I read I say to myself “Oh this is another thing that I need to see God remove”. We surely can do this book again!!!

  3. Thanks for sharing your review. We can tell ourselves things over and over again, but only God can speak them down into our deeper places where true and lasting change come from. You’re making progress!

  4. i love the style of your blog. just “happened” here from big mama. 🙂
    funny– that you mentioned the tongue. i have been convicted of this sin of running my mouth for about two weeks now. glad i`m not the only one. 🙂
    good verses…

Leave a Reply

