Stepping back

Why does the word “stepping” look wrong? I think I’m losing what’s left of my mind…

Anyway, a while back, Shannon at watchthesky did a series of posts on womens roles in the church and family and such things. There was much discussion and thought on what would happen if the women stepped back from some of the programs and let the men take those roles by simply getting out of the way. I was one of the skeptics at first that figured if we women left it to the men, it simply wouldn’t get filled in.

Well, I’m here to tell you I was wrong. At least in my family anyway. Now don’t get me wrong, there are still lots of things that I need to be getting out of the way of for my husband, and I’m learning, but I would like to report some progress on one front.

In case you didn’t know I’m having a baby real soon…I hope real soon anyway. So I am taking at least this year off as an AWANA leader.

Well, wouldn’t you know I got out of the way and my husband made the decision to give being a leader a try. Yes, I SAID MY HUSBAND! Isn’t that amazing? I know it’s something he would feel he couldn’t do if I still wanted to because he would feel the need to stay home with the kiddos if I went. But, look, I got out of the way and he stepped in!

He’s nervous and a bit stressed about it but I know that once he gets going he’ll be just fine.

I wonder what else he could do if I just stepped out of the way? I won’t lie, it’s got me thinking 🙂

God is at work. I love it!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Stepping back

  1. Wowzers…I’m totally impressed with your hubby!! I hope he loves it!!

  2. watchthesky

    It is all so very exciting. 🙂 I’ve been convicted about being ‘in the way’ a lot lately. It just comes so very naturally, you know? But your experience has also spurred me on…

  3. Thanks for the nice comment on my blog. I just love it that your hubby in stepping up to bat while you are needing to ‘step back.’ Great lesson to learn at such a young age. Praise God.

Leave a Reply

