Old friends

well, not OLD in the sense that they are old…because they aren’t. If they are, then so am I. I’ve known these girls since the 10th grade though and for those of you who are counting, that’s about 16 years. Two of them live away and happen to be home for summer vacation at the same time. Cool.

On Tuesday we gathered all our children together, and again, for those of you counting, that’s 10 kids between 5 couples with two more kids on the way currently. Wow, who knew we would reproduce like that? It’s funny when I think about it. Trying to remember back when we were in high school and imagining what it would be like to be grown up. I don’t think any of us knew what it REALLY is like to be grown up. It’s much harder, but also much more rewarding when you have children. I also don’t know if we imagined that we would keep in touch this well either. I’m not as close to all of them as I used to be but I love that they still include me and that we do all keep updated with eachother. Facebook makes that a little easier these days. I like that our kids are friends and remember each other even though we only hang out twice a year. It’s fun.

Last night we went out WITHOUT our children! To a place that doesn’t sell chicken nuggets, hot dogs, or grilled cheese sandwiches. Imagine that! We ate delicious food that did not include french fries and talked about old times and, of course, talked about our children alot. Mike and I had a great time. We don’t get out too often without C and once in awhile it’s kinda nice. I’m gonna assume that it won’t happen again for a while with a new baby coming so I’m glad we decided to go.

Seven’s daughter babysat for us for the first time and she did a great job. I hope C was good to her! C told me this morning that she wet her pants…great. But Seven’s daughter has younger brothers and has probably dealt with such issues before. The sweet babysitter even did the few dishes that were in my sink. Bonus points for sure 🙂 If we ever go out again, we’ll call her.

Anyway, I hope we get to see the two “far-away” friends before they head back home but if not, it was really great to spend time with them and see how big their kids have gotten.

And now I feel old.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Old friends

  1. i cannot believe my niece is old enough to babysit…how is that possible?

    lucky you for having a night out!

Leave a Reply

