Cake for no reason

C and I baked a cake this morning just for fun. Cake is yummy and it’s nice not to have an occasion, we can just eat it. We might have to have some people over because between the three of us, some of it might go to waste. We like sweet treats but we always seem to waste some if we don’t share. Anyone want some cake? 🙂

I was supposed to be out this afternoon with the homeschool group to do gym class with them but I cancelled. C has a really bad cold (again) and I decided to stay home with her instead of her coughing all over my parents house or all over the other kids. She’s ok, just a cold but I thought it best we stay home. I feel guilty when I cancel the things I’ve committed to but in reality, my daughter is the one I should cancel things for. Just another lesson I’m learning about how to be a mom.

Hard job, this mom thing, but I think I’m starting to get the hang of it. Alot of it is about attitude. It’s way less about me and way more about what God says. The more I can think like God wants me to and have His attitude, the more I seem to be able to handle. I by no means have it all figured out or even think I’m doing a good job, I just kind of get it now and I’m working on it. Shannon’s posts have been timely for me. if you haven’t read her recent series, you should go there now.

I have a flip calendar on my kitchen window sill that has a daily verse on each page. Yesterdays was 2 Thessalonians 1:11-12 To this end we always pray for you, asking that our God will make you worthy of His call and will fulfil by His power every good resolve and work of faith, so that the name of the Lord Jesus may be glorified in you, and in Him…

That God will make me worthy of His call. Just a good reminder that I don’t have to do it, I have to be willing to let Him do it. I need lots of reminders 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cake for no reason

  1. watchthesky

    Being willing to let Him do it. Great reminder Jenn, thanks.
    Glad that you stayed home with C instead of coming out today, I bet C was glad too. 🙂

  2. watchthesky

    I meant that I was glad you felt free to stay home with her. I was sorry not to see you of course. Don’t think I was glad not to see you. Mercy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

