Book Review – 1 Samuel 1-6

I’m not sure I have volumes to write…in fact, I know I don’t have volumes to write but a couple of things did come to mind when reading these chapters so I’ll tell them to you because if I don’t Shannon might give me the lazy eye at church tomorrow 😉

Ok, verse 8 in chapter 1 made me smile a little and if I’m interpreting this correctly, maybe it made you smile knowingly too. Elkanah wants Hannah to be happy, he doesn’t taunt her as his other wife does, he tries to make her feel better by saying, “Why be downhearted just because you have no children? You have me—isn’t that better than having ten sons?”  Oh Elkanah…even then, men did not truly know a woman’s heart. A good husband is something to be thankful for, for sure, but women were created to have children and there is no way Elkanah can truly understand the hurt in Hannah’s heart. So, I just enjoyed that passage, that’s all 🙂

Starting at verse 9 with Hannah’s heart-felt prayer for a son and continuing down to verse 18 was my favorite part of this reading. After Eli understood Hannah’s prayer and gave her a blessing she thanked him and had total faith that she would have a son. She was no longer sad.

This was a huge lesson for me. Pray it. Believe it. Leave it with God. Have faith. So huge.

Small, strange sentences…I know. But very important.

Then she gets her son as promised and as she promised, gives him back to God. How easy it would have been for her to “forget” her vow and keep her beloved one and only son but she didn’t. She kept her promise and I really admire her for that. Wow, that’s big. I can’t imagine giving up one of my children. But God blessed her for keeping her promise and gave her lots more children. Another good lesson there. And she didn’t give Samuel to God with a heavy heart, no she gave him with a prayer of praise. Wow.

There was a lot more in these chapters but for me, that is all tonight. Here’s hoping my insomnia gives me a break tonight. Brutal.

Thank you and have a nice night. I’m off to read some other reviews!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review – 1 Samuel 1-6

  1. watchthesky

    “Pray it. Believe it. Leave it with God. Have faith.” Love that line. 🙂
    Love the review, we hit much of the same things eh? Its a good book and you did your review and you are saved from the wrathful lazy eye tomorrow morning. I thank you. 🙂

  2. happytoknowhim

    Great thoughts Jenn. I admire Hannah and her faith and belief in her Lord. “Pray it. Believe it. Leave it with God. Have faith.” these are little sentences to commit to memory. All the reviews thatI read are so good. Itried to leave a comment on Ruth’s but couldn’t. Have a great day at church today. I am praying for you often and I hope yu will soon be able to sleep. No fu staying awake when you shoud be sleeping.

Leave a Reply

