Book review Friday (or Sunday) – JUDE

Please excuse my review tardiness. It’s been a busy weekend around here. My sisters baby shower was yesterday at my house. We had a really good time and lots of people came, although we missed an important few who were under the weather. We’re still reaping the benefits of the fabulous food that Michelle’s friend Kelli made. She’s good I tell ya, you should get her to cater something for you 🙂

Anyway, on to Jude. I like the small books, I find it easier to concentrate on what I am reading because there is less to digest. And I found Jude to be a pretty clear and concise warning about those in or around the church that are not teaching the true Gospel of Jesus Christ. We’re being taught here in this small book to be aware, to not get sucked in by the wishy washy and to make sure that what we are being taught, or listening to, or reading is the truth. Nothing else will do but the true Word of God.

It’s a message to stand up for what we know is right. To not back down because we may face opposition. Jude starts by saying that he was “planning to write to you about the salvation we all share. But now I find that I must write about something else, urging you to defend the truth of the Good News.” Chapter 1:3 Jude goes on to talk about the Godless people that have wormed their way in among them. And I am sure that there are Godless people that have wormed their way in amongst us too. We must not be fooled by them.

We’re given a detailed look at what these “worms” will look like. We’ve been warned. We have no excuses to follow them and be fooled. If we stay in God’s word, we will know the truth. That’s why it is so important to know the Bible because sometimes we can be innocently fooled by those who twist the words of scripture to make them sound different then they are. It’s a dangerous and scary thought.

If you don’t attend out church or couldn’t be there this morning I very much suggest you listen to this mornings message online at www.weston.cfc.org because it was so important and so informative. In my opinion it went along well with what we learned from Jude this week. Pastor spoke on 2 Thessalonians 1:1-12. I won’t go into any long explanation because he says it better than I ever could so hopfefully it’ll be up soon and you will listen to it. It was a great warning and a great eye opener for us not to be idle in our Christian walks and our churches but to pay attention to what is happening around us in the world. Seriously, you need to listen to it 🙂

Ok, that’s all I have to say.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book review Friday (or Sunday) – JUDE

  1. happytoknowhim

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on Jude. We all need to be on guard and not become comfortable in allowing someone else to do all the digging for us. It will still come down to being our responsibility if we let someone lead us astray into false doctrine. Great review:):)

  2. Most excellent review Jenn. Totally worth the 2 day wait. 🙂
    I’ll be listening to that sermon that I’ve heard so much about this evening I hope. A humdinger I’m told.

Leave a Reply

