Learning to pray…again

On Saturday I attended a small ladies retreat at Fellowship Baptist Church. The theme of the day was Lord, teach me to pray. The speaker was Julie Andrews (no, not THAT Julie Andrews) and I think she did a great job of pointing to the very specific scriptures that teach us how to pray and how NOT to pray.

I learned alot but do you know what I came away with that stuck? Well, I’ll tell you in a second. I do know that lately I have not been praying nearly enough to survive…almost literally. I’ve known for awhile that my prayer life is lacking and I know that this is a huge reason (if not the only reason) that I can’t seem to get closer to the Lord. So, I am committing myself (again) to become the prayer person I want to be (agian). I try and fail often but with my new found Biblical knowledge of prayer, I will give it another go. It’s worth it. It’s SO worth it.

Anyway, the thing that really stuck with me was that I do not pray for my husband. That’s dumb. I need to pray for him. Especially since I want him to the head of our family. Especially since I want him to be our spiritual leader here at Jenn Rambles On. I do too much rambling and not enough praying. That goes for the blog, that goes for my family, and that especially goes for my marriage.

So, not only did I have a great day of fellowship with like-minded believer ladies but God also allowed me to make some realizations. This is good.

And, I also won a book which I am looking forward to starting called Pierced by the Word by John Piper. Winning is fun. Winning what I’m pretty sure is a quality book is even more fun šŸ™‚

Good night!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Learning to pray…again

  1. I’m jealous!! John Piper is excellent!! Truly. Glad you had a good weekend.

  2. Kim

    Ugh! I hate that I had to miss it–the next time sickness visits here, it’d better not be when I have plans! šŸ˜‰

  3. Well, Shannon, seeing as I am currently reading two of your books, you can borrow this one till my reading tray is emptied a little šŸ™‚

    And Kim, yes, no more getting sick when we have plans because when do WE ever get to have plans??? šŸ™‚

  4. If I didn’t know any better I would of thought that I wrote that Blog…I certainly can relate…. I even bought the book by Stormie Omaritain; Power of a Praying Wife.

    How have you made out???

    Cindy

Leave a Reply

