The double dog dare review

I’m posting a review. Partly because I should but mostly because there is NO WAY I can turn down a double dog dare. It must be the competiveness in me. So I must, I MUST post something. It might not be deep but there will be a word or two. If you have no idea what I’m talking about head on over to Shannon’s and find out about book review friday. You so should do that. Now.

This week we were reading Romans 14-16. I’m really only going to touch on two verses today. It’s something I underlined previously and it’s back to haunt remind me.

Chapter 14:7-8  For we don’t live for ourselves or die for ourselves.  If we live, it’s to honor the Lord. And if we die, it’s to honor the Lord. So whether we live or die, we belong to the Lord.

As soon as I read this again I felt convicted. Convicted about the way I’m living my life and who I’m living for. Can I say that I’m living for the Lord? Sure, I can say it, but that doesn’t mean it’s so. I can also probably do a pretty good job of convincing others that I’m living for the Lord but where is my heart really? I can honestly say that my heart’s not in it and hasn’t been for awhile. It’s not that I don’t want to be, I just got tripped up along the way. Fooled by the world and fooled by the idea that I can’t concentrate on my family while living for the Lord. I don’t have it all firgured out yet because if I did, I think I could fix it. I just can’t seem to balance family and still have the attitude I need to have for God. I have to remember that because I am saved (thankfully) I need to start feeling that again. That my home is not here, and that I’m waiting to go home and should be trying my best to please the Lord while I’m here waiting.

I don’t know if that made any sense. And that’s ok if it didn’t, it got me thinking and I guess that’s what’s important. It’s one of those verses that plunges into your heart and sort of twists around and makes you feel uncomfortable with yourself…which I guess would be what conviction is 🙂

Ok, now I shall go and link.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The double dog dare review

  1. I have a love/hate relationship with verses like that. I love the light bulb moment when I read it and realize I’ve been missing out, and I hate it because it’s not easy to die to self.
    Loved seeing your review there on Mr.Linky. Great write up. 🙂

  2. happytoknowhim

    WoW!! I thnk that verse got to most, if not all of us. The reviews I have read so far have mentioned it. Thanks for the reminders Jen. It’s great to see your review. I haven’t done so great in posting reviews either. I think if we are honest we will admit that we all have times of trying to keep things in perspective, one thing that stays the same is our Lord. I am thankful that He never leaves or forsakes when we get off track.

Leave a Reply

