A review of sorts

Well as we all know, I’m not so great at the reviews lately. And as at least I know, I’m not even so good at the reading either. I did read though Romans 1-6 one time. I usually don’t feel qualified to write a review at all but especially when I’ve only read the material once. But when I was reading chapter 6 I remember thinking that I should write something down because this was good stuff. So, this is me trying to write something down. I technically don’t want to call it a review but if I don’t link it, Shannon will yell at me 🙂

Romans chapter 6: 1-4:

1 Well then, should we keep on sinning so that God can show us more and more of his wonderful grace? 2 Of course not! Since we have died to sin, how can we continue to live in it? 3 Or have you forgotten that when we were joined with Christ Jesus in baptism, we joined him in his death? 4 For we died and were buried with Christ by baptism. And just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glorious power of the Father, now we also may live new lives.

Hello! Talk about meaty! I think this first passage was the main reason I wanted to write something down. I mean, what a convicting piece of scripture. It’s a no excuses kinda shout out from Paul that is relevant to every Christian new and old. No more sinning! God does not accept it! He has a higher standard for us now. Am I following the higher standard? Nope. Ya know, it’s easy to say oh hey, I’m good, I don’t drink, smoke, or swear anymore so I’m not a sinner. A good look at my heart would tell a different tale. Sin does not have to be all those things that the world would recognize but I think often the worse sins are the ones that us Christians struggle with that no one sees. Like for me my defiance against God and my unwillingness and inability to surrender my life to God. The way I treat my husband and how I talk to my daughter when no one is around. I should be able to over come these things but most times I choose not to. How upsetting I must be to the Lord. Dang.

How slow and easy it has been for me to slip back into old ways. I remember the few years that followed after I got saved. How exciting life was, how much closer I wanted to be to Jesus, how I worked at it every day. Then little by little I slipped back, each step back equalling MANY more than I thought. Getting out is harder. Way harder.

So yeah, I’m still struggling. Daily. And I often want to be complacent here…but I never will be. It’s easy for me sometimes to forget and focus on life but I always come back to what I know is wrong with my life…being far away from God. It stinks.

The next few verses talk even more about being dead to sin and how sin should lose it’s power in our lives. Oh sin, why do I give you power? Grrrrrrr….

12 Do not let sin control the way you live;[a] do not give in to sinful desires. 13 Do not let any part of your body become an instrument of evil to serve sin. Instead, give yourselves completely to God, for you were dead, but now you have new life. So use your whole body as an instrument to do what is right for the glory of God. 14 Sin is no longer your master, for you no longer live under the requirements of the law. Instead, you live under the freedom of God’s grace.

God’s grace. I was saying to my friend Julia the other day that I don’t really remember what it’s like to feel God’s grace. I don’t know if I forget or if I just won’t let myself feel it. I don’t really know how to explain that one.

But I like how that section I have highlighted above gives the flat out instructions. This is what not to do and this what to do. Seems simple, eh? Shya.

verse 16: Don’t you realize that you become the slave of whatever you choose to obey? You can be a slave to sin, which leads to death, or you can choose to obey God, which leads to righteous living.

And there’s an “ah-ha” moment. I’ve become a slave to sin. Isn’t it easier to be a slave? Sometimes it is. No responsibility, no decision making. Hmmm, maybe that’s my problem.

20 When you were slaves to sin, you were free from the obligation to do right. 21 And what was the result? You are now ashamed of the things you used to do, things that end in eternal doom.

Well, there ya have it. Just a few random and jumbled thoughts on some very important scripture.

Happy Easter everyone 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A review of sorts

  1. That’s down-right awesome Jenn. Totally worthy of a link! Wish I had gotten that much out of my reading.
    p.s. I wouldn’t have yelled at you. I might of gave you the lazy eye at church in the morning, but I wouldn’t yell. 🙂

  2. happytoknowhim

    Really good thoughts for each of us to ponder. I agree so much with you about the sins of the heart that no one sees, except God of course, those inward sins are the biggest struggles for me too. Keep doing a review I am always encouraged to see what others glean from the book we are reading.

    Congratulations, like you said if anyone doesn’t know that thre is a blessing on the way for your family —- Where have you been? I must confess that I have not been reading many of my friends blogs lately, it seems like the day is over and time has just slipped away. I am happy for you:):)

Leave a Reply

