Maybe I should have knocked on some wood

Well, maybe I spoke too soon with the whole potty training thing. I knew it seemed too easy. Gosh.

Things were going well and then a great fear of um, ya know, going #2 on the toilet surfaced. Which has resulted in some going in the pants. This is not good. The thing is, it doesn’t feel like she is being defiant, she seems really afraid and devestated when she is telling me she has to go and gets really upset when she “has an accident”.

So, I know this isn’t the most pleasant of topics to discuss but has anyone else had a kid who was scared to…well, you know…? How do you fix it?

Ok, I’ll really try to find something better to post about in the future 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Maybe I should have knocked on some wood

  1. Misty30

    Cadie was the same way….but each time she started to do her ‘I’m about to poop’ thing, we’d race her to the potty and put her on…one day it came down to her crying and screaming over it, but when it finally happened..she looked at us and said ‘that wasn’t so bad, was it?’ ‘sigh’ 🙂 Lol 😉

  2. I didn’t have one that was afraid to go, but we did have all kinds of #2 issues. My best advice (which I know you probably don’t want to hear) is to be consistent and patient. Keep encouraging her and let her be with you when you are….well, you know. Keep an eagle eye on her and when you know she’s getting ready to poop, scoop her up (without scaring her) and set her on the potty. Use songs and books to keep her there for a few minutes. And a little birbery…er, motivation never hurt.

Leave a Reply

