Book Review Friday – Philemon

Me? A book review? Really? It’s been awhile. In fact I don’t even remember the last one I did but it was probably one over the summer maybe. I could look, but I don’t want to 🙂

If you read here sometimes you’ve probably figured out why I haven’t done a book review lately. No, it’s not because I haven’t been reading along with everyone because I have but it’s more because I’ve been in some sort of rebellion for, oh, a long time now. See, I got myself in a pit and I couldn’t get out and nothing in the Bible made sense because it was all clouded out by the misery in my pit. I’m not trying to make excuses for drifting away from the Lord I’m just telling you how it was. And I say was because I’m climbing out of the pit. I want out. And I’m gonna let God take me out.

Ok, on to Philemon. Since this is my first review in awhile it might not be too exciting or informative because I may have lost my groove 🙂 And Philemon was really short but I’ll see what I can do.

The first thing for me was how faithful Paul was even though he was in prison for his ministry. He never seems mad or unhappy. That would be really hard yet he seems to handle the whole prison thing very well.

In verse 4 he starts off by saying that he always thanks God when he prays for Philemon. I loved that Paul probably spent most of his prison time praying. And it would seem by his writings that most of that prayer was for the churches and people. I likely would have spent most of my time complaining to God or just forgetting about Him altogether because I was in prison. I’d be throwing myself a pitty party for sure. I do that alot. I’m just on the other side of a pitty party I had for myself for like two years.

So I think we all would have liked this Philemon guy. Seems as though he was a kind-hearted, God fearing man with lots of faith. His kindness “so often refreshed the hearts of God’s people”. We should all do that more. Imagine if we all regularly refreshed eachothers hearts. I know there are lots of instances that we all do that for eachother but I bet there are more things I, for one, could do. I should work on that. Then Paul says that if we do this, we can come to a better understanding of all the good things we can do for Christ. Cool.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t get a whloe lot out of the Onesimus information so I’m not going to try to make something out of nothing for me. I’m looking forward to yours and see what you thought about Onesimus’s story.

Ok, I’m off to go take care of my hubby who seems to be coming down with something AGAIN. That man is always sick lately.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Book Review Friday – Philemon

  1. watchthesky

    Oh Jenn, I love your review. It’s good, it really is. Maybe the book of Philemon was just so simple and I was trying to get too much out of it. You done good though! 🙂

  2. anniepannie

    I LOVE your review. Simple, to the point. I’m smellin what you’re smokin.

  3. anniepannie

    Was that rude? I don’t know how to delete it if it was. Sorry. I’ve heard it said before and thought it had a nice ring to it.

  4. watchthesky

    Anne, it was better than ‘smellin what she’s steppin in’ but you could have said ‘pickin up what she’s putting down’. That’s enough for now though, I think I’ll make like a baby and head out. 🙂

  5. happytoknowhim

    Great to see your review, Jenn. I had a difficult time with this little book too. Maybe I was like Anne and trying to find a deeper lesson for me to learn. Paul is a great example of humility for me. Loved your review and I thank God that things are better for you, I will keep praying.

Leave a Reply

