Exactly how I feel

Yesterday I mentioned that I was frustrated over the fact that I had nothing to say and no reason as to why my relationship with the Lord wasn’t going so well.

But today I read something that explains EXACTLY how I feel. So much so that I was kinda shocked and had to read it a few times over.

A friend loaned me a book called Things Unseen by Mark Buchanan. I don’t read much lately since it’s all I can do to find time to try and read my Bible. But I picked it up last night anyway and started in.

I’m not going to give much explanation I’m just going to type out a little of what Mr. Buchanan wrote:

“The world is booby-trapped. It’s rigged for disappointment. On Earth everything falls short of some hoped-for ideal. Everything good down here has a tragic brevity and a funny aftertaste to it. It all falls short and shortly falls apart. None of it possess ultimacy.

In response, we can become so cynical that we poison oursleves, so self-indulgent that we devour oursleves, so despairing that we collapse into ourselves. In fact, self-pity and self-indulgence, boredom and despair, envy and greed – such are only yearning gone sour. They are just the greasy residue that remains after yearning has gone unfulfulled too many times. A sadness like ash settles on our doings and our desires. We find trinkets to fiddle with, trivia to distract us. A once burning zeal dwindles to a dry itch, and everything becomes a frantic attempt to get passion back, or a plodding resignation to its death.”

Yep, that’s how I feel. Can’t explain it any better than that.

Looking forward to the rest of this book 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Exactly how I feel

  1. watchthesky

    I know the friend that loned that to you (she’s a nice lady) and I plan on reading it as well. Sounds really good! 🙂

  2. julia

    holy crap!
    this definately constitutes a response however, i don’t even know what to say! think i could borrow that book when your done with it? 🙂

  3. wow Jules, it must have stirred something in you because in all the time you’ve been reading my blog this is your first ever comment 🙂

    it’s not my book to lend out but maybe Santa will bring you a copy…or I could tell your husband to get it for you 🙂

  4. Kelli

    Too true, too true~ that is all I have to say! Oh that, and I love reading your blog, Jifner! 🙂

  5. well thank you kellophogus…everyone is just coming out of the wood work for this one!

    PS: I didn’t know you read my blog… *blush* 🙂

Leave a Reply

