Book Review Friday – 1 Peter

Did I say I was going to do a book review this week? Oh yeah, I think I did. Like I said in my last post, it could be lame but I’ll give it a go because I really got alot out of this book. It met me right where I am. Funny about the Bible and that sort of thing, eh? It always seems to meet me where I am. And you too, I bet. Oh, if you have no idea what  book review friday is, click here and see!

Alright, Peter got started right away in saying things that made me think, Chapter 1:2 says (NLT): ” God the Father knew you and chose you long ago…” I just wanted to state that this has always bewildered me. Not that God chose long ago but that he chose ME long ago. I often wonder why but even though I struggle lots, I’m grateful. And if I really start thinking about it, I get all amazed. Like, imagine God sitting around choosing people and you and I made the list! How cool is that? If you happen to be reading this and you’re not a christian yet, that doesn’t necessarily mean God didn’t chose you, it just means you haven’t accepted his son yet 🙂

Then Peter says to them, “May God give you more and more grace and peace.” Yes, that’s what I hope for these days. Grace and peace. Seriously, if you have grace and peace, you have alot of what you need.

So verse 6 and 7 made me feel like I totally am failing the challenge. You know, Peter was talking to these people to encourage them most likely because they were being persecuted for their faith. I imagine that’s the trials he’s talking about. They probably endured horrible things. Yet, I bet they were pretty happy, especially after Peter reminded them of the promise of what is to come. So for me, I feel a little bad now because lately my trials (as petty as they seem compared to real actual trials) have caused my faith to waver. And since my faith is not remaining very strong, I feel like I am failing the test. Like I’m not “pure gold tested by the fire.”

1:13-16 is the section that hits me where it hurts, ” So think clearly and exercise self-control. Look forward to the gracious salvation that will come to you when Jesus Christ is revealed to the world. 14 So you must live as God’s obedient children. Don’t slip back into your old ways of living to satisfy your own desires. You didn’t know any better then.  15 But now you must be holy in everything you do, just as God who chose you is holy 16 For the Scriptures say, “You must be holy because I am holy.” I’ll just say this, Peter so new what he was talking about when he said, “You didn’t know any better then.” Man is that ever true and the more I think about it, the more it makes sense to me. Before I was saved five years ago, I did lots of stuff that was wrong and felt little or no remorse for it. But ever since I’ve been saved, I can’t get away with that stuff anymore. The guilt is rediculous. If you’ve been saved most of your life you might not understand the contrast. It’s crazy. All the sin I’m slipping back into lately is what is driving me mad. I remember how easy it was to be a sinner before I was saved. And now, because the Holy Spirit is in me, everything I do that is contrary to what God would have me do haunts me like you wouldn’t believe. But these past months, instead of changing it, I’m being more stubborn and trying not to care. FYI: It’s not working.

I don’t think I explained that very well but believe me, it was huge for me.

Chapter 2:1&2 ” So get rid of all evil behavior. Be done with all deceit, hypocrisy, jealousy, and all unkind speech. 2 Like newborn babies, you must crave pure spiritual milk so that you will grow into a full experience of salvation. Cry out for this nourishment, 3 now that you have had a taste of the Lord’s kindness.” Ahem. So this passage here tells me that I am doing the exact wrong things. Which I knew but nothing like a scriptural kick in the pants, eh? I’m not craving the pure spiritual milk. That’s a problem.

I got so much out of the first two chapters I’m going to quit here. My brain hurts and I need to go to bed. But don’t worry, I read and re-read the part about husbands and wives and since I basically have been doing the opposite of that, too, I’m not going to bore you with anymore details. Just know that I am convicted and have personalized most of 1st Peter just for me and basically forgot that he was writing to oh, you know, other people.

And this is why the Bible is for EVERYONE. Not just for the people from “Bible times.” It remains relevant from generation to generation.

Scared to see what Peter has for me in round 2 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Book Review Friday – 1 Peter

  1. heidiheidiheidi

    Isn’t that just cool when God teaches you stuff directly? (As opposed to only through pastors and other people with lots of training)

  2. happytoknowhim

    Great review Jenn. It is good when we are convicted when we read His Word. When we see our wrong, God can work in our lives. It’s when we think we are alright and being a “good” Christian that we need to be concerned. Jeremiah 17: 9 tells us how deceived we can be with ourselves. Keep looking to Him.

  3. watchthesky

    Jenn, I love your review! It’s so good. So glad your in on BRF, not just because it means a name on Mr.Linky but because it means that we’re reading Scripture. Things cannot help but get better if we continue to read and read some more and pray and pray some more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

