A shameless plea for parenting advice

You know, sleep is important. And the less I get of the aforementioned sleep, the more I realize how important it is.

C is cutting two year molars. Some say that this process may cause some restlessness or sleeplessness and to ‘them’ I say, “Oh really?” WHY DON’T YA COME OVER FOR THE NIGHT AND SEE?

I have never experienced such a lack of sleep. Not even when she was a newborn. I totally think she slept way more than this. The past two weeks have been  – well, really crappy.

She usually goes to bed ok and falls asleep rather quickly but somewhere between 11:30pm and 12:30am she wakes up and stays awake for about, oh, THREE OR MORE HOURS. And since our big girl is in a big girl bed, she feels free to come into our room to keep us awake. Numerous trips back to her bed throughout the night usually end in alot of crying and screaming, and then she just gets upset too. I joke, but seriously. The three hours usually ends with me FINALLY giving up and letting her in our bed which wouldn’t be so bad to begin with if she would get in our bed and just go back to sleep.

Oh no, that would be too easy.

She has a fidget problem which is probably what ‘they’ mean by restlessness. She kicks and flings and pokes and turns until I am bruised and annoyed. I tried going to the spare room the other night. She found me. I tried pushing her closer to her father. She wiggled back. I tried reasoning with her. She doesn’t reason well at this age.

So, my question to you is; What do I do with this sleepless, fidgety toddler?

In all seriousness, I am at the end of my rope. I’m so exhausted I can’t function during the day. I’m forgetting things I’m supposed to do for people but most of all I am CRANKY and nobody likes living with that.

My fear is that even when the teething is over, this will be the new trend. I know my daughter and I know she will fight this battle for as long as she wants. Could be a couple weeks, months, or even years. I’m scared.

The comments are open to you. Or feel free to email me.

Thank you in advance for your wisdom 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “A shameless plea for parenting advice

  1. My daughter was the same way when she cut her molars. First of all, we used a
    homeopathic teething remedy from Hyland’s. They’re teething tablets that you simply
    stick under your child’s tongue and let them dissolve (which happens instantly). They
    are completely safe and VERY effective.

    Second of all, we found that the easiest way to get her back to sleep at night was to lay
    down in her bed with her. If she got too restless, we just threatened to leave, and that
    almost always worked. She settled down quickly and went back to sleep.

    Don’t worry too much about creating bad habits now. If you daughter needs comfort
    now, give it to her. You can always break a habit later, once she’s feeling better. It’s
    more important that your child trusts you when she’s not feeling well.

    Hope this helps!

  2. watchthesky

    Well Jenn, I’d say you are brave to open yourself up to parenting advice from the whole blogger world! 🙂 I had to deal with this BIG TIME when we moved and I do have advice for you and I can promise that it will work.(seriously) But I’d rather talk to you in person. 🙂
    But I’ll tell you that it doesn’t sound like it’s the ‘teething’ that’s the problem. (Oh, you know I like to say it like it is:)

  3. kinzalslater

    I say just give her some tylonel and let it do it’s work. lol

  4. If you imagine how empty your life would be without her, I guarantee that you won’t mind one second of her being up and restless.
    Justin is getting his eye teeth right now, 3 down and one to go!!!
    I try to imagine the pain he is in and how much he needs me to be loving and supportive to him right now.
    This may sound preachy… but you asked for it!!
    Try to take the focus off how you feel and focus instead on your daughter’s feelings.. the pain that is driving her crazy and she has no idea why.
    I tried to explain to Justin how he needs his teeth, how happy he will be to have a great steak and not have to gum it someday, but he didn’t get it. All he wants is orajel and lots and lots of cuddles and hugs even when all I get is a couple hours sleep.
    Its quiet now, you’d think I’d be folding the laundry on my bed so I could sleep in it!!

  5. heidiheidiheidi

    The schedule sounds like ours when my daughter was a newborn: colic from midnight until 4:00 or so, though at least she was an angel the rest of the time. So I think the best thing I can tell you is that even though it feels like it will never end, it will. Someday you will again feel rested, and think that staying up late sounds like fun instead of the stupidest, most insane thing you ever heard.

    As for practical stuff, ask your pediatrician about alternating Tylenol with Ibuprofen. Ours says you can do that, and then you’re giving them some kind of pain relief every two hours instead of every four. It worked for us.

Leave a Reply

