Book Review – Judges 6-10

If you are new to Book Review Friday click here and find out what it’s all about. Join and you will never be sorry you did! 

Wow, this was alot of information to take in. I’ll be honest, I can’t say I got past chapter 8 every time I read. I usually stopped there and then picked up with 9 and 10 later. Lots of reading and I can tell when my mind wanders and I start skimming…bad sign. Good time to stop for a bit 🙂

Anyway, I have a thought or two so let’s see if it makes sense to anyone else. I’m mostly looking forward to reading the other reviews so don’t let me down 😉

Chapter 6 verse 1-6:  The Midianites were cruel for seven whole years and finally reduced the Isrealites to starvation before they remembered the Lord and cried out for help. I hope I wouldn’t wait for starvation before I cried out to the Lord. But that made me think that there are many little things that I should be relying on the Lord for on a daily basis but I am too stubborn to take the time and consult God before I go ahead with whatever it is and then I make the wrong decision or say the wrong thing. So, in reality, again, I am much like those stubborn Isrealites that I think were so rediculous. That’s another kick in the pants for me. The more I read, the more I see how much the Bible is THE most relevant information for this day and age and every day and age. It’s amazing how it never gets outdated and we can ALWAYS see our mistakes but also how to fix them. Anyone who doesn’t think you can’t learn anything relevant from the old testament needs to read it again.

At first I started feeling sorry for Gideon a little…just because he seemed like a regular guy who had been conditioned to believe that the Lord had abandoned them to the Midianites. Then he gets the news that he is to defeat the people that are oppressing them! Can you imagine? I can’t. And even though I’ve heard some of the story of Gideon before (I don’t think I’ve ever read it myself) I wasn’t surprised when he asked for a sign. Who wouldn’t? I think I would have wanted the same thing…just to be sure that is what God is asking me to do. That makes me think, how much am I waiting for something to happen when I pretty much know what God would want me to do? I’m sure that is something that I could work on.  After Gideon gets his first sign he is convinced that it is the Lord who has called him to do this great and scary thing and he is so excited and sure…but that doesn’t last, soon he needs more signs and other things. Gosh, I thought about how excited I was when I first got saved and how real Jesus was to me. Then I remebered how that excitement wore off for awhile and then, came back again when I worked hard at being close to Him. So in effect, I am like Gideon in that way. Man, BRF is kicking my rear lately.

Ok so then Gideon defeats the Midianites and for 40 years things were good and then the NLT says, “As soon as Gideon died, the Israelites prostituted themselves by worshiping the images of Baal, making Baal-berith their god.” So I wonder if that’s literal…if it really was “as soon as” he died. Man, what were they thinking? I see a people who just feel like it is easier to worship a non-existant god than to be held accountable by the real One. Sounds alot like today, eh?

And I think I’m gonna stop there tonight. I don’t have a good handle on the last two chapters…and I think Abimelech was just plain old bad news.

Thanks for reading!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Book Review – Judges 6-10

  1. Great Jenn! Good point about waiting until starvation to call out to the Lord. Good stuff. And about Gideon being conditioned to believe the wrong thing, makes me wonder what I’m being conditioned to believe. Very good points so thanks. 🙂 Kind of neat how we’ve all touched on something a little different this time. Love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

