Book Review – Judges 1-5

I don’t feel ready to write a review on the first five chapters of Judges yet but I’m gonna try. I peeked at Shannon’s (didn’t read it yet though) and it’s long so obviously there are some things I missed but we’ll see what I can come up with as I type. Lately more comes out of my finger tips than I think is even in my brain. That’s why writing a review is so important for me after I do the reading, because half the time I don’t learn what I need to until I actually sit and type. Think of all the things I might be missing if I didn’t write it down!

 Ok, chapter 1:14,15 – I wondered what the significance was of Othniel and Acsah asking for more land. Maybe it’s nothing but if it’s in the Bible, it must be important in some way. I was hoping I would notice a reason as I read on…but I haven’t yet. Did I miss it? I like that chapter 1 is a set up for the events that are written about next. It’s so cool that God wanted us to have the history of his people in great detail so that we would be able to see who He is and what He does for those who are His. Some of it is hard to read because you start thinking, “who cares who conquered who?” But it’s important history, even if I don’t know how to pronounce the names. It made me want to pay better attention as I was reading.

Chapter 2 is where it gets serious, people. I felt sad that the generation after Joshua’s decided to fall to temptation after all God had done for them. Then I thought, Hmmmm, gee, how am I any different alot of the time? And that was my kick in the pants. I’m getting more kicks in the pants as I type this too. Sure, so I don’t outwardly worship false idols but what are the things I do that dishonor God? Oh, lots of things. Darn it. I’m no better than that generation in most ways. Is God burning with anger at me? Yikes! That’s the last thing I want! It’s time to get serious here. Because not only am I messing up but I’m beginning to raise a new generation (well, not a whole generation by myself but you know what I mean, I have a daughter) and I have to be an example to my little girl so she doesn’t dishonour the God that rescued her mom from sin and horrible-ness. Oh, I so want to show her who Jesus is through me but I’m failing miserably. I hate this struggle with Satan. I hate it. I hate that he wins a lot of the time. Ok, I’m getting off track. Anyway…

What I love about these chapters is that when God’s people cry out to him in sincerity, He rescues them. What a patient and amazing God!! Time and again He rescues them from thier sin and raised up judges to lead them in the right direction. It’s pretty much beyond my comprehension that God would do that. But He does. Sometimes I think that’s why I can’t get myself out of the ruts I get in, because I think that God has had it with me and I don’t deserve for Him to help me again and that I don’t deserve to draw closer to Him. And it’s true, I don’t deserve it, but He’ll take me back. And that just made me all warm and fuzzy inside 🙂 It made me think of the circumstances surrounding me getting saved back in 2002 and it made me remember that all of those things that happened could have been nothing but the hand of God. I like to think about that once in awhile because I did not save myself, nope, not even a bit, and the awesome people God put in my life didn’t save me either but all those great people and interesting circumstances were who and what God used when He saved me. Yup, I’m full of bunny trails tonight but all this stuff is coming up in my head as I go through these chapters again.

This is getting way longer than I thought and I’m only starting chapter 3. I like the story of Ehud and Eglon here although I don’t know if I got anything super significant out of it. It was very detailed though and sort of like a shakespearian play.

Anywho, I don’t think I have anything left to say. I liked reading these chapters more that I thought I would. I just pray that I can take what God reminds me and actually apply it. that’s the problem I have been having lately. All these great revelations are no good to me if I get excited about it for 5 minutes then get all caught up in life until next friday when I write my review. That’s not the person I want to be.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review – Judges 1-5

  1. Learnin lots aren’t we!? I know exactly what you mean about the next generation too. I didn’t get a whole lot out of the Ehud and Eglon story, nor the tent peg story really. But there were very interesting! 🙂
    Now I have to get to bed, my next generation will be up and at ’em early tomorrow and I’m already late getting my z’s.

  2. I think you’re getting the hang of this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

