Book Review – 1 Corinthians 13-16

A day late and probably more than a dollar short but here goes:

Chapter 13 – Oh dear. This chapter always causes me to hang my head in shame. Love. Well, isn’t it easy to say you love something or somebody but when you read the actual and true definition of love it makes you stop and think. V 4-7 are words you hear often at weddings and different occasions and sometimes popular scripture can lose it’s sting when you hear it often but don’t listen to it. So to read it almost everyday makes you sort of take note. And when I take note I can’t help but see my errors. I’ll keep it real, I have a very hard time with this love thing. Always have. I don’t know why. I guess I’m not letting the Lord do the work He needs to do in my heart. That’s not good. I, as usual, have work to do…or, In this case, have work for the Lord to do. I can’t do it myself so why do I keep trying?

I liked chapter 14. Just because it was a good explanation of the whole speaking in tongues thing. Pretty clear to me that if you are gonna speak in tongues, you need an interpreter. Correct me if I’m wrong but I don’t think there is even any question about that. I don’t mean to offend if you are reading this and you are on board with the whole tongues thing but it’s pretty clear here what protocol is for that sort of thing. And I get the feeling that “tongues” isn’t just some gibberish but an actual language that existed at that time. I might be taking some liberties there but that’s what I sort of think. That it was used for non-believers from other places to understand the gospel. Anyway, just thinking about that and thought it was interesting.

15 v 10 But whatever I am now, it is all because God poured out his special favor on me—and not without results. For I have worked harder than any of the other apostles; yet it was not I but God who was working through me by his grace. 11 So it makes no difference whether I preach or they preach, for we all preach the same message you have already believed. (NLT) Ok, so I work hard, God works hard through me and then there are results, yes? Seems simple, eh? why is it so hard? Can ya tell I’m having a struggle here people? 🙂

15 v 29 If the dead will not be raised, what point is there in people being baptized for those who are dead? Why do it unless the dead will someday rise again? Does anyone know what this means? I’ve always wondered that. Before I was saved, I studied Mormonisn for awhile and they do this. I never understood it. Mormons presented it as a way to get to heaven after you are dead. Your relatives can get baptized for you or something and then you are a-ok. I doubt that’s what this means since we know you have to trust Jesus BEFORE you die. Just wonderin’.

I’m not so good at this reviewing lately…but I’m trying really hard to do the reading. Off to be inspired and convicted by the rest of you reviewers!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Book Review – 1 Corinthians 13-16

  1. Great Jenn. 🙂 I really needed to get to bed but just knowing that there was a review up that I hadn’t read, I just couldn’t do it.
    That sounds right about the tongues thing being an actual language. I’m going to read up on that one more.
    I love how you ‘keep it real’ ! 🙂
    See ya in church.

  2. So good to see your review!

    I’m right there with ya on chapter 13.

    Excellent observations on chapter 14, and I agree with you on every point. Seems pretty clear to me, too.

    15:10 in my New King James says, “By the grace of God I am what I am” and I was reminded about all the times I have said things like “I just gotta be me” or “it’s my personality” or “it’s just the way I am” thinking that somehow that excuses my less than stellar behaviour. When I read this verse it showed me that I am not what I was – I am a new creation and I should act like it. That would be my BRF Part 2.

    I wasn’t sure about 15:29 either, and after your review I asked Jon about it and looked it up in His study Bible and in other versions online. Jon MacArthur says that Paul is getting back to his original point in v. 18 – 19 and v. 20 – 28 are a parenthesis. That makes sense to me. That Paul is saying, “(v. 17-18) If Christ is not risen, our faith is useless and we are still in our sins. Those who died before are us are just that: dead. If our hope in Christ is only for this life and not life after death also, we are to be pitied. (v. 29) If there is no resurrection, what was the point of all those believers ahead of us to be baptized?” Since baptism is a symbol of death and resurrection, why would we do it if there was no resurrection? Not that I get it fully, but I do feel a step or two closer now. Thank you for reminding me to look that up. 🙂

    Keep reading! See you tomorrow!

  3. Good grief. I didn’t know that comment was so long. How rude. (And random. And risky.)

  4. Charmin, neither rude, nor random, nor risky was your comment…I appreciated it very much…made the whole thing clearer about death and baptizm etc from v 28 🙂

  5. happytoknowhim

    Great insight about tongues. I’m with you, I think you hit the nail on the head – so to speak. Great review!

Leave a Reply

