What are you waiting for?

Last night was our AWANA closing at church. If you don’t know what AWANA is, you should check it out (go ahead, click on both of those links) It’s pretty much the most fun you can have at church on a Thursday night as a kid, and for that matter, as an adult. I wish I had some pictures to post but I didn’t have my camera and I’m sure Shannon, the resident photographer, will have some pics up eventually on her blog. (no pressure shannon) 

The church was transformed into the “big top” thanks to the artistic stylings of Kathy, our pastors wife, and everyone else who helped paint and glue stuff together. If you weren’t there, you missed a good time 🙂

Hmmm, I was trying to think of a way to tell you what a blessing it is to be involved with AWANA. I’ve been the Sparky Games Leader for 3 years now and I can’t forsee a time when I wouldn’t want to do it anymore. It’s SO FUN! And the kids LOVE game time. It’s what makes them want to come back at first. And if they come back, they can’t help but hear the Gospel at our club. If you’re there, you’re gonna hear it. That’s another thing I love about our club.

We pretty much have the greatest Commander of all time. Mrs. Dorey is the best and it’s been proven since our club is often made an example of for other clubs to follow. It’s true, she’s that good 🙂 We leaders all appreciate her very much.

I’ve rambled off a few paragraphs now and I don’t feel I’ve told you much about how important AWANA is to me. But think about it…an extremly fun night for children to come to church, play, hear the word of God, hide God’s word in thier hearts, and sometimes eat cupcakes. I get to be a part of helping plant God’s word in children’s hearts. That’s an amazing and important call.

I know most of you who read my blog are already involved in some way so you get what I’m saying. If you haven’t been, what are you waiting for? The children need you. Plus, you might get to eat cupcakes. 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “What are you waiting for?

  1. Kim

    And isn’t it all about the cupcakes? You’re right –we have a super-duper club, with the best commander EVER!!!! I’m gonna miss it this summer!

  2. I do have lots of pictures. 111 to be exact. Some very cute ones and the one I took of you turned out really cute. 🙂 I’ll send them to you tonight when the chickens are in bed and I have some time to breath. :0)

  3. Pingback: Oh My!! « Pressing on Toward the Goal

Leave a Reply

