Book Review – 1 Corinthians 1-4

I wasn’t going to post a review today. And I’m not sure this will be a quality review but I just read those 4 chapters again and something stood out to me that didn’t the rest of the week so I think I’ll try to convey that to you.

Basically if we don’t look like fools to the unsaved, then we aren’t doing our jobs as Christians. If you are unsaved, that might sound like a foolish statement (good, I’m on the right track) but it’s so true. We are supposed to stand out, we are supposed to be a peculiar people, and the world should think we are different. Some will think we are different in such a way that they will want to know what’s up. Others will just be annoyed and not care. It’s not our job to decide who should think we are foolish. We are to stand on God’s word, be different, and make the world stand up and notice us. Why do you think Paul and his friends were always stirring stuff up? Because people noticed that they were different. They didn’t sit back and blend in, nope, they stood up for Christ and the message of the cross.

Imagine if all the early Christians blended in? Would the message of Christ be available to us today? Maybe not as readily as it is now. That’s why it’s our job to further the message.

I can’t tell you how hard I work sometimes just to blend in, to not ruffle any feathers and wait for “opportunities” to tell people of Christ. That’s not what I’m supposed to do. I need to look more foolish in the eyes of the world because what matters is eternity. Sometimes I forget that this life is just a blink and that I need to be working towards building the kingdom of God and not the kingdom of Jenn and Mike 🙂

Yup, that’s what I got just now from those chapters. I hope it made a little sense to you cuz it did in my head.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Book Review – 1 Corinthians 1-4

  1. anniepannie

    It is so true. It’s so much easier to blend in than it is to be holy and set apart as God wants us to be. I am so glad you posted that!

  2. Great Jenn! Glad you posted it. You conveyed it rather well. 🙂 I like the, “life is just a blink” statement. I’m going to use it if that’s okay. 🙂
    I have a problem though, I still have Jonah-itis BIG TIME!

  3. happytoknowhim

    Good thoughts Jenn. We really do have a hard time to put our pride and image aside and to be what Christ says we will be (peculiar people) when we are bold to stand up and be counted for Him. Won’t it be great when this life on earth is over and “We see Christ”? But until than we are to keep going for Him and sharing with others what He has done for us.

Leave a Reply

