Book Review Friday (Saturday Edition) Galatians

What a week this has been! Chloe got yet another cold which we also picked up, my friend Erin had her baby (which is a whole other post for some other time:) ) and along with your general things that get put in the way I didn’t get as much reading done as I had hoped. I really am working on my priorities but I’m not doing so well sometimes. Somewhere in there this week I managed to read Galatians three times. I so wanted to read it every day. Sigh. Regardless, I promised a review of it and a review you will get. It might not be so great and probably not very long.

This book gave me lots to think about. The theme of the book seemed to center alot on Paul trying to get people to understand that the only way of salvation is through Christ and all the obedience to jewish traditions means nothing if you don’t believe that Jesus is the Son of God. Faith. There are so many religions in the world today who rely on thier works and obeying the laws instead of faith in Christ Jesus. Paul is very clear in this book about how salvation is obtained.

He reminded them to live according to thier new life in the Holy Spirit. A reminder I can use on a daily basis. Knowing what the Spirit produces is a great way to take a look at what your life is and what your life should be. Chapter 5 made me cringe a little…because I have work to do. I’m ashamed and I don’t want to be. I should be a better example of what it is like to have a life that is led by the Holy Spirit. I have a little girl watching me. I want her to see the good things listed in verse 22 and none of the things listed in 19-21. Yup, I’ve got some work to do.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review Friday (Saturday Edition) Galatians

  1. You only had to cringe a little? I feel like I’m in permacringe. I’m so glad I’m not having a heart to heart with Paul… I’d be crawling under the table.

  2. Can I just say I love your new blog! And I loved your review too. It really was a good book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

