This ones for Michelle (but you can read it too)

For the benefit of the one reader I have that doesn’t know me (hey Alli), Michelle is my sister. She got thrown off her horse again. The new horse…the calm horse. I guess he got spooked and down she went. Seven months ago she broke her left hand when her other horse threw her…this time her right hand, not to mention a broken rib and a possible bruised kidney. She feels sort of embarrased (michelle if you’re reading this, don’t be mad) I mean, seasoned riders don’t get thrown this often. She’s been riding since she was…I don’t know, like 10 or something? Her odds of getting struck by lightning should have been better than breaking another bone from a horse fall.

When we were talking on the phone the night it happened, she wondered why it happened again and although I don’t have a clue how or why this happened again, I said something, that after I said it, may have been for me to hear as well. I told her that there is a reason for everything. Even the not-so-good stuff that happens, it’s still in God’s hands. I’ve been thinking about that alot since I said it. Not that I think it was brilliant or anything. I mean, it’s a pretty routine statement but I payed attention to it whether she did or not 🙂 I guess it is a good reminder that goes along with the Bible reading I’ve been doing for BRF. In all the information and instruction that God gives us, He also always reminds us that HE is in control…that’s why we don’t have to worry so much about the things we can’t control. Which is a big issue for me. Control Freak is my first, middle, and last name.

Anyway, that’s my thought of the day as I wish my lil sis a speedy recovery.

*note: these are the things only Michelle will understand:
“How many Sundays has it been now?”
“It’s just like babysitting, eventually it will be over”
“happy, happy. Joy, joy.”
“I’ll just leave you a note in the trailer and mom will never know I went to the party.”
“Seeeeeeeee my vest, see my vest, made of real gorilla chest…”

There’s prolly a million more I am forgetting but don’t ya wish sometimes that we could lock ourselves in your room (because yours was bigger) and play crazy eights and sing to the music at the top of our lungs? Sometimes I do…if only for an hour or so.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “This ones for Michelle (but you can read it too)

  1. Shannon

    Poor Michelle! I did think that maybe, given their history, both her and Josh should just sit on a nice soft couch for a few years to get a break from injuries. 🙂

Leave a Reply

