BRF – Psalm 119

Could it really be Friday already? Dude, the weeks are flying by.

I did manage to read through Psalm 119 almost everyday this week. I also discovered that if I read during the day when Chloe is napping, instead of when I get in bed at night, I take in way more information. Duh.

Having looked at some of the “cheats” in my Touch Point Bible I discovered that it is an acrostic poem, there are 22 stanzas, one for each letter of the Hebrew alphabet. The eight verses within each stanza begin with the Hebrew letter of it’s section. I just thought that was an interesting piece of information.

There is definitely a theme in this chapter. The author (I’m not sure if it’s David, do any of you know for sure?) really wants us to know that he is committed to following God’s laws and commandments. But he doesn’t just say he’s going to, he also tells us why and how we should follow God’s laws.

I think summed up, this is a chapter that describes just how important it is to be in God’s word regularly. We sing “Thy Word” alot in church and I’ve loved that song since I was a little girl but the meaning is deeper than I think I ever really thought about before πŸ™‚ I mean, imagine, the God who created us also gave us an instruction manual on how to live our lives for Him! He didn’t just leave us hanging to figure it out on our own (and we all know how disasterous that would be, look at all the people who don’t follow the manual). He gave us a lamp for our feet and a light for our path. I especially like verse 130 (NLT): As your words are taught, they give light; even the simple can understand them. ’nuff said πŸ™‚

v. 152: I have known from my earliest days that your decrees never change. Oh if only the world would agree. It’s upsetting to hear people in the media who claim to believe in God and think the Bible is a “good” book but also think that the Bible should be updated to include what the world views as ok. A good example would be gay marriage and how those who are in favour of it think that “God just wants everyone to be happy”. It really wouldn’t take much study to see how attitudes like that are the cause of the downward slope of society as we know it. I could go on with this topic but all I’ll say is I’m glad God’s laws never change. They were right for men of biblical times and they are right for us now in 2007.

There is something in each and every verse of this chapter that is worth paying attention to. These are just a few thoughts I had. I’m really looking forward to reading yours πŸ™‚

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “BRF – Psalm 119

  1. SHannon

    Although I really don’t have time to be reading this right now, I just couldn’t stay away. Excellent Jenn, simply excellent. πŸ™‚
    Very interesting about how it was written too. And I do like the fact that even ‘the simple can understand’. That’s me. πŸ™‚

  2. Simple Kim

    Jenn…Glad you joined. It looks like a slow BRF week so far.

    Loved your input, especially the part of the acrostic poem. I never would have known. I also was wondering who the author is and hoping the other reviewers would tell.

Leave a Reply

