Book Review Friday – Haggai So I need to tell you…

Book Review Friday – Haggai

So I need to tell you that this has been my favorite book since I joined the review club. It pretty much met me right where I am…I could have inserted “Jenn” in many, many places in this book.

Let’s begin 🙂 Right away, in verse 2 God tells Haggai that this is what the people are saying. “The time has not yet come to rebuild the Lord’s house – the Temple.” Um, this is pretty much what I’ve been saying for the last couple of years. Always finding an excuse as to why it is not time for me to get serious about the Lord and “rebuild” the temple in my heart. As soon as I read that, I was convicted and ashamed. Who am I to tell the Lord that it’s not time yet? After He saved me from my sin and from certain damnation to hell and I tell Him it’s not time yet. I bet when the isrealites heard that, they felt pretty ashamed too. They had let other things get in the way. Priorities people! I need to get my priorities in line. I started to realize that last week, but this week…oh my stars, it hit me like bricks!

The Lord reminds them through Haggai how things are going for them, their crops are low, their cattle are dying and things just aren’t going so well. My cattle aren’t dying (because I don’t own any) but I do have other problems that stem from my disobedience. Things aren’t going as well as I know they could be. My family does not function as well as it could because I know I am not spending the time learning what God wants me to know about being a godly wife and mother. See, I have the benefit of knowing what it’s like to be close to the Lord so I know where I should be. That’s why I don’t have a real excuse as to why I have let my self slide back.

Verse 12 says that Zerubbabel, Jeshua, and the whole remnant of God’s people obeyed the message from the Lord and the people “worshiped the Lord in earnest.” Oh how I want that to be me!

Here’s the BEST part…”I am with you, says the Lord!” He didn’t say build my temple, I’ll come check it out when you’re done. No, He said, I AM WITH YOU! He is with me! I don’t have to do it by myself. Horray! I can work on coming back to Him because He wants me to and He will help me. Very cool becuase I don’t deserve that…but that’s just how much He loves us. Man, sometimes that is so hard for me to comprehend. I mean I know it, but to really ponder it. Go ahead, stop for just a sec and think about this. The God of the entire universe loves YOU! Amazing isn’t it. Phew.

“Take courage and work, for I am with you says the Lord almighty”

“The future glory of this temple will be greater than it’s past glory, says the Lord Almighty. And
in this place I will bring Peace…”

Peace. I miss having peace.

I don’t think I have much more to say. This has been a very important week for me. I really want to try and keep reading Haggai at least once a week to remind me of my what I need to do. And think, all this from a book I’m not sure I’ve ever even read before! I’ve been missing so much.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Book Review Friday – Haggai So I need to tell you…

  1. Shannon

    Woo hoo for a great book and learning so much. Love it. 🙂

  2. Charmin

    This is a very moving BRF for me. I think I’m going to cry through every review. Why am I so emotional tonight??? And no, I’m not pregnant. : )

  3. Jenn

    maybe it was the chocolate sauce…i’m feeling rather emotional myself…in a grateful, amazed kind of way.

  4. Angela

    I love your thoughts about the temple of our heart. I did not relate the building of God’s physical temple to that of my own physical temple. Yeesh! I’m going to have to reread the book now with that concept in mind.

    To do list for today: reread Haggai and read Ephesians (which I’m really looking forward to doing this week BTW)

Leave a Reply

