Book Review Friday – Ruth This story is probably …

Book Review Friday – Ruth

This story is probably the most familiar one to me of the whole Bible. I worked with a little girl named Hannah a couple of years ago and when it was reading time, this was her first pick. So, for me, the book of Ruth was a little harder to get into my head as scripture then last week’s selection. It took a couple days before I saw what God wanted me know about myself from this book. So here it is:

I complain WAY too much. Here’s Naomi who lost everything that mattered to her…her husband and then her two sons and they weren’t even living in thier home land when it happened! Can you imagine? Moving away to avoid famine and while you are in a strange land you lose your entire family. So what do I have to complain about? Nothing, yet I complain a heck of a lot more than I should. So this week, I’ve really been trying to guard what kind of thoughts I let in my head when my first reaction to something would be to complain. I find that I think about Naomi and instead of complaining, I thank God that I have my family and lots of friends, a warm apartment, food to eat, and way more things than we need. I don’t need to be complainin’! That’s a huge eye opener for me and it’s really helping me to get out of my self pitying rut that I’ve been in. I am blessed.

I also started thinking about why God would include this particular story in the Bible. Honestly, I didn’t come up with the answer myself. I do most of my reading in my NLT (I can stay with it easier then KJV) and it’s a “touch point” Bible which means there are a lot of helpers and pointers and stuff, and in the side bar next to the end of the the last chapter, it makes a note about 4:11 Then the elders and all the people standing in the gate replied, “We are witnesses! May the Lord make this woman who is coming into your home like Rachel and Leah, from whom all the nation of Israel descended! May you prosper in Ephrathah and be famous in Bethlehem.” The note is: “faithfulness – When the people wished Boaz success in Bethlehem, little did they realize the tremendous success he would have, at least in God’s eyes. Boaz and his wife, Ruth, would become ancestors of Jesus Christ, Isreal’s long awaited messiah. God often uses unlikely circumstances and people to accomplish his work…” Well said, contributor dude! Ruth is a great example of the way God has everything planned out for us to his glory and purpose. I used to refer to it as “the chain of things” when I thought back to how I got saved and all the circumstances that surrounded it…the places I worked, the people I met. It’s a good reminder for to think about those things every once in awhile. It reminds me that I am NOT in control here and that I don’t want to be (much to the disappointment of sinful nature).

I also really like the part where the other family redeemer guy handed Boaz his sandle to seal the purchase of Elimilech’s land. I don’t think I learned anything life changing from that part but I thought it was funny how different things are now and how no one trusts eachother anymore.

Off to read your posts now!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review Friday – Ruth This story is probably …

  1. Kim

    Wow Jenn!! I was so busy thinking about Ruth, that I didn’t stop to think about Naomi. Excellent post!

  2. Karen

    great post! thanks for your prayers!

Leave a Reply

