I’ve been thinking alot about food lately. Charmin…

I’ve been thinking alot about food lately. Charmin’s past couple of blogs have been a contibutor, and watching Super Size Me last night too. I really want to make some changes in my eating habits…well, not just mine but Mike’s and chloe’s too. i realize that my food cravings directly impact the rest of my family. Mike eats what I cook so therefore, he does not eat healthy either. But for him, he gains no weight at all, in fact, I’m pretty sure he is losing weight. How that happens, I really don’t know, I can only be slightly envious. If you’ve ever seen his mother, aunts and grandmother, you would understand. They are all a size zero. Chloe only likes to eat bread, crackers, yoghurt and apple sauce. i can get her to eat some combinations of baby food that has veggies in it a couple times a week. It stresses me out but if I try to feed her something she doens’t like, she just spits it out. But she’s little, I still have time to change our eating habits so that they eventually rub off on her. I’m now getting excited (and stressed) about the idea of cooking more “real food”. Since Chloe was born, I’ve been real big on stuff that comes in a box and you take it out of the freezer and into the oven, no prep involved. That, I’ve decided, is because I am lazy. I’ll be the first to admit it. There really is no reason that i can’t cook real food. I mean we do eat real meals a couple times a week but we don’t eat nearly enough fresh fruits and veggies as we should. It’s just that I’m scared of recipes, and I don’t like lots of pots and pans to have to wash later. Silly things but they really are the things that keep me from cooking.

So, I announced to Mike that we are off pop now. he agrees, so after this 2 litre of pepsi is gone, I won’t be buying anymore. I like juice, juice is better for us. Yay juice! (are you convinced yet?) Also on the next trip to the grocery store, I’m going to buy yummy fruit to make fruit salad. Mmmmm.

I’d also like to vow to exercise more, but I find that true exercise, beyond walking, is just not going to happen so I’m not going to lie to myself and pretend I’m gonna whip into shape. even though I really miss being in shape…I remember the days…

Anyway, someone check up on me in a couple weeks and see how I’m doing, ok? thanks. And as kip dynamite would say, Peace Out.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “I’ve been thinking alot about food lately. Charmin…

  1. Leah's Mommy!

    I’m so with you! No more pop for us, either. I wish it didn’t taste like heaven on earth.

  2. Jenn

    yeah, i’m really gonna miss pepsi…

  3. Charmin

    You go, girl. Big step in a very good direction.

  4. Charmin

    although I can’t imagine myself ever missing pepsi. gross.

  5. Kim

    When Ray first became a diabetic, one of the first changes we made was to switch from real Pepsi to Diet Pepsi. It was so gross at first! Now after a few years of only diet, the real stuff tastes yucky to me–so sweet. (Although I have to admit that every so often, I have the real stuff–when I’m craving something really sweet-and immediately go on a sugar high.) They say that there is a cup of sugar in a can of pepsi! Yuck!

  6. Shannon

    I just don’t like pop in general. But I still can’t say I’m healthy, I surely do like my chocolates and cakes and stuff.

  7. Erin

    believe it if you can…my hubby cut back on pop. did you gasp? i did when he said he wasn’t going to take one to work one night, he’d take a juice instead. if he can do it, i can do it. and i really should do it anyways. i think my baby is dependent on it already. uh oh.

  8. Jenn

    Gasp! Good job Jonathan! And you too Air…yeah, your baby doens’t need it. babies like juice better anyway.

Leave a Reply

