Book Review Friday – Summer Psalms

What? I still have a blog? Not so faithful with the blogging these days but BRF is a great reason to start up again! If you stumbled here and don’t know what BRF is, jump over to Watch the Sky and check it all out. It’s eternally worth it :)

So, this week we started Psalms with the hope to get to know God better. We read, studied, prayed over, and took notes on Psalms 1-7. I’ll just share a few thoughts I had with you. I’m out of practice with the reviewing portion but I’ll try to make a little sense anyway.

Chapter 1 v 3 talks about a tree bearing fruit each season without fail which made me think that I probably don’t bear much fruit and my leaves are kinda withering…hmmm, not good.

Chapter 2 v 2 seemed to be a verse that could have been written in 2009 when is says that “ the kings of the Earth prepare for battle, the rulers plot together against The Lord and against his annointed one.” It seems the world all around us is working to move away from God and the things the Bible teaches to make way for an ‘anything goes’ attitude. Scary planet we live on! But it’s a good reminder as things progress that time is short, Jesus is coming! I need to be ready, you need to be ready. I’ve been thinking alot about that lately. I have a lot to do to feel ready and that makes me feel panicky. Everything stresses me out :)

But I suppose if I did as v 11 says and “serve the Lord with reverant fear” then “what joy for all who find pretection in him!” because I know for a fact that joy is way better than the worry, fear, and anger that I let myself live with all too often.

Chapter 3v3 is one of my favorite all time verses, “But you, O Lord, are a shield around me, my glory, and the one who lifts my head high” This verse is also in a song I know and love by Starfield. Maybe I’ll try and find it to link here. It’s a gooder.

v 5 is also a fave, “I lay down and slept. I woke up in safety, for the Lord was watching over me.” So it’s no secret that I’m an anxious person, I’ll be the first to admit that. This verse is comforting because it helps me remember that no matter how freaked out I am over something dumb when I go to bed at night, I just pray and the God of the universe is my protector. How cool is that? He is faithful and I always wake up feeling refreshed and protected if I bring my worries to Him before I sleep.

I might have been a little worried and bordered on obsessive at the beginning of the week when the media was freaking out about swine flu. But ya know what? Reading Psalms this week helped because I had this overwhelming reassurance that The God of the universe, our God, is in control over everything that happens…and that, my friends, is comforting.

This is getting a little lengthy, my back is killing me, and I had tonnes of notes for the rest of the chapters and I’m thinking you are probably bored :) So, trust me, this was a great way to end April and start May and I’ll be continuing on in the reading and giving some tidbits of what I learned each week.

Horray for BRF being back!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Book Review Friday – Summer Psalms

  1. watchthesky

    Good points Jenn. I love reviews. I’m tired too and need to go sit down. Reading your review was a great way to end my evening. :)

  2. Great review, Jenn!

    I hear ya about the scared at night thing. No fun. :(

  3. Excellent pieces. Keep posting such kind of info on your page.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You’ve performed an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg
    it and for my part suggest to my friends.
    I am confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

Leave a Reply

